Canadian Cardiovascular Society

Each year, the CCS and many of our 14 affiliate organizations recognize members’ exceptional achievements during the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress. Following is a list of awards that were presented during Vascular 2023 to celebrate the contributions of current and future leaders across various areas of cardiovascular medicine. Congratulations to all recipients and thank you for your immeasurable contributions to advancing heart health for all!

CCS Member Recognition Awards

Candice Silversides

Achievement Award

Douglas Lee

Research Achievement Award

Anne Williams

Exemplary Leadership in Clinical CV Medicine &​ Surgery Award 

Ratika Parkash

Women in Cardiovascular Medicine / Science Mentorship Award​

John Ussher

Dr. Robert E. Beamish Award​

Ian Burwash

Distinguished Teacher/Mentor Award​

Jacqueline Saw

Dr. Harold N. Segall Award of Merit​

Abigail White

Trainee Excellence in Education Award​

Catherine Boutet

CCS Sex and Gender-Based Analysis Trainee Abstract Award​

Emma Le Nezet

CCS Sex and Gender-Based Analysis Trainee Abstract Award​

Jérémy Bernard

CCS Sex and Gender-Based Analysis Trainee Abstract Award​

William McIntyre 

Young Investigator Award – Clinical Science

CIHR-ICRH / CCS Distinguished & Mid-Career Lecturer Awards

Colleen Norris

CIHR-ICRH/CCS Distinguished Lecturer Award

Jason Andrade

CIHR-ICRH/CCS Mid-Career Lecturer Award​

CCS Affiliate Awards

Stephen Fremes

Canadian Society of Cardiac Surgeons
Achievement Award

Haissam Haddad

Canadian Heart Failure Society
​Annual Achievement Award​

Anne Fournier

Canadian Pediatric Cardiology Association​
Dr. Alain Cloutier Annual Achievement Award​

Ismail Raslan 

Canadian Cardiovascular Critical Care Society
​Excellence in Cardiac Critical Care Research Award​

Dean Traboulsi

Canadian Association of Interventional Cardiology
​Outstanding Achievement Award​

Gary Small

Canadian Society of Cardiovascular ​Nuclear and CT Imaging
Dr. Michael Freeman Annual Achievement Award

Andrew Krahn

Canadian Heart Rhythm Society
​Annual Achievement Award​

Teresa S.M. Tsang​

Canadian Society of Echocardiography
​Annual Achievement Award​

CCS Research Fellowships & Awards

Kelsey McLaughlin

CCS-Pfizer Research Fellowhip Award in First Nations, Inuit, and Métis Communities Experiencing Heart Function Inequities

Jacquie Baker

CCS-Pfizer ATTR-CM Research ​Fellowship Award​

Brandon Helfield

CCS-BMS Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy Research Award​

Thomas Roston

CCS-BMS Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy Research Award​

Marie Pigeyre

CCS/HSRLCE/BI-Lilly/Novo Nordisk Cardiometabolic Research Award​

CCS Trainee Research Awards

Iulia Iatan
Trainee Research Award – Clinical Science Winner
Abstract Title: Familial Hypercholesterolemia in Canada: Investigating Management Patterns and Clinical Outcomes from the FH Canada Registry

Karina Gasbarrino
Trainee Research Award – Basic Science Winner
Abstract Title: Circulating Sex-Specific Immune and Hormone Markers of Carotid Atherosclerotic Plaque Instability

Fellows of the CCS

Carolina Escudero
Edythe Tham
Georges Rewa
Gurmeet Singh
Janek Senaratne
John Mullen
Maral Ouzounian
Marie-Annick Clavel
Peter Nichol
Rolland Leader
Sherryn Roth
Susanna Mak
Talal Al-Atassi

CCSA Dr. Charles Kerr Award Recipients

Derrick Tam
George Slim
Karen Ho

CCSA Have a Heart Bursary Recipients

Amir Razaghizad
Anna Zarzycki
Batool Barody
Daniel Schwade Araujoln
Darien Grace
Hannah Zhang
Hargun Kaur
Sébastien Hecht
Sofiane Ouerd
Vibhuti Arya
Back to top