Announcing the CAN-Fuel Program (CANadian Cardiovascular FUturE Leaders)

CAN FUEL EN logo web

CCS recognizes the need to support early-career members and are committed to ensuring generational development and representation across our programs and activities. That’s why we’re excited to announce a new CCS program called CAN-Fuel (CANadian Cardiovascular FUturE Leaders). 

The CAN-Fuel program focuses on leadership development among early-career members, including those who are transitioning to practice. 
The cohort for the inaugural meeting of the program at CCC has been selected.


Congratulations to our 31 Recipients:

Jennifer Amadio – Toronto, ON

Faizan Amin – Hamilton, ON

Kim Anderson – Halifax, NS

Jason Andrade – Vancouver, BC

Mangeet Chahal – Mississauga, ON

Anita Chan – Toronto, ON

Derek Chew – Calgary, AB

Justin Cloutier – Winnipeg, MB

Andrew Czarnecki – Toronto, ON

Robin Ducas – Winnipeg, MB

Nowell Fine – Calgary, AB

Michael Goldfarb – Montreal, QC

Bryan Har – Calgary, AB

Samir Hazra – Kingston, ON

Christine Henri – Montreal, QC

Frédéric Jacques – Québec, QC

Michelle Keir – Calgary, AB

Andreas Kumar – Sudbury, ON

Shuangbo Liu – Toronto, ON

Gitanjali Mansukhani – Saskatoon, SK

Scott McClure – Calgary, AB

Mohammed Nassoh Hafez – Ottawa, ON

Rebecca Noad – Toronto, ON

Mohamed Nosair – Montreal, QC

Brian Potter – Montreal, QC

Mahwash Saeed – Winnipeg, MB

Abhinav Sharma – Montreal, QC

Christian Steinberg – Québec, QC

Nicolas Thibodeau-Jarry – Montreal, QC

Indra Warren – Burlington, ON

Tina Zhu – Kingston, ON


Thank you to our mentors:

Beth Abramson – Toronto, ON

Paul Armstrong – Edmonton, AB

Paul Dorian – Toronto, ON

Michelle Graham – Edmonton, AB

Michael Hartleib – Peterborough, ON

Victor Huckell – Vancouver, BC

Clarence Khoo – Winnipeg, MB

Howard Leong-Poi – Toronto, ON

Carlos Morillo – Calgary, AB

Donald Palisaitis – Montreal, QC

Sarah Ramer – Halifax, NS

Christopher Simpson – Kingston, ON

Graham Wong – Vancouver, BC

Kenny Wong – Halifax, NS



11:45 – 12:00     Arrival of participants, mentors and CCS Council members - LUNCH

12:10                    Welcome from Anita Asgar and Sean Virani (CAN-Fuel Co-Chairs)

12:15                    Presentation from Lisa Milburn from BMO on Diversity and leadership

12:25                    How to get involved with CCS – Andrew Krahn

12:35 – 13:00     Lunch and Networking

13:00 – 14:30     Needs Assessment

14:30 - 15:30      Leadership Presentation

15:30 – 15:50     Networking/bio break

15:50 – 17:00     Speed Mentoring Session

17:00 – 17:15     Wrap up and next steps

17:15 – 18:00     Reception – Networking/wine and hors d’oeuvres



Thank you to our supporters:


BMO     Bayer    AstraZ  



Screen Shot 2019 07 12 at 10.51.06 AM