2017 CCS-Bayer Resident Vascular Awards Competition Results


2017 Vascular Awards Winners

From left to right: Trenton Wilde (Bayer); Thomas Roston, MD (1st place); Andrew Krahn, MD (Chair of the Evaluation Committee);

Amine Mazine, MD (3rd place); Michael Chiu, MD (2nd place)

The Canadian Cardiovascular Society (CCS) and Bayer Inc. presented the CCS-Bayer Resident Vascular Awards at the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress for the fourth time. This award program helps to fund research for Clinical Trainees in PGY 4-6, focusing on improving knowledge and understanding or improving care for patients at risk for vascular thrombotic or embolic events.

This year’s selection committee, an independent peer review committee, chose three submitters to present their research at the competition during Congress. Congratulations to all awardees. We look forward to your promising futures in Cardiology.

First prize ($20,000) and Presentation Bonus ($10,000)

Thomas Roston
University of British Columbia
Cardiac RyAnodine receptor Variants in Early-onset Atrial Fibrillation: The CRAVE-AF Study

Second prize ($12,500)

Michael Chiu
University of Calgary
Heat Shock Protein 27: A Potential Biomarker for Atrial Fibrillation

Third prize ($7,500)

Amine Mazine
University of Toronto
Pilot Echocardiographic and CT Imaging Study to Evaluate Subclinical Leaflet Thrombosis Following Surgical Bioprosthetic Aortic Valve Replacement


For more information on the CCS Bayer Resident Vascular Award, click here.
For more information on this year’s awardees,
click here.