Canadian Cardiovascular Society

Dr. Robert E. Beamish Award

Deadline: May 11, 2022 (no later than 12:00 Noon EDT)

Support by The Canadian Journal of Cardiology

This award is given in honour of Dr. Robert E. Beamish, Founding Editor-in Chief of The Canadian Journal of Cardiology. The Award is presented to the first author of an original research article published during the preceding three years in The Canadian Journal of Cardiology and judged to have the greatest (potential) impact on cardiovascular medicine.

A Nomination submission must include the following:

  1. The nominee is a Canadian citizen and must be a CCS member;
  2. Nominations will require primary and secondary letters of support;
  3. The nomination should include detailed reference to the subject article.

The recipient will be selected by a Committee of the Associate Editors of The Canadian Journal of Cardiology prior to the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress.

Submit a nomination by email: Dr. Stanley Nattel, Editor-in-Chief DesignateThe Canadian Journal of Cardiology at

By Email: Dr. Stanley Nattel, Editor-in-Chief Designate  The Canadian Journal of Cardiology at

Award Prize: 

The recipient of the Dr. Robert E. Beamish Award will be presented with a commemorative gift at the annual CCS Awards Ceremony, which takes place during the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress.

Award Recipients

2021 – Sean Kang, Calgary
2020 – Michael Iacocca, London
2019 – Sumeet Gandhi, Mississauga
2018 – Jason Andrade, Vancouver
2017 – Andrew Mente, Hamilton
2016 – Laura M. Kuyper, Vancouver
2015 – Alexis Baass, Montréal
2014 – Douglas S. Lee, Toronto
2013 – Anders Holst, Copenhagen
2012 – Anne Holbrook, Hamilton
2011 – No award given
2010 – Eldon Smith, Calgary
2009 – John Mancini, Vancouver
2008 – Michel Joffres, Vancouver
2007 – Justin A. Ezekowitz, Edmonton
2006 – David A. Alter, Toronto
2005 – Jack Tu and The Canadian Cardiovascular Outcomes Research Team (CCORT), Toronto
2004  – James White, London
2003 – Martin Juneau, Montréal
2002 – Benoît Lamarche, Québec
2001 – Julie St-Pierre, Montréal
2000 – Lorrie Kirshenbaum, Winnipeg
1999 – William R Ford, Cambridge
1998 – Anatoly Langer, Toronto

Back to top