Canadian Cardiovascular Society

Dr. Harold N. Segall Award of Merit

This award was created in 1991 in honour of the late Dr. Harold N. Segall, who was a founding Member of the CCS and for many years served as the Society’s Archivist. It is offered in recognition of a significant contribution to the prevention of cardiovascular disease or the promotion of cardiovascular health in Canadians.

Award Criteria:

CCS Members are asked to nominate a Canadian individual, group, or organization that has provided tremendous participation for the betterment of cardiovascular health in Canadians by advocating for the prevention of cardiovascular disease or the promotion of cardiovascular health in Canadians.

A Nomination submission must include the following documents:
  1. 1-2 page Biography of the nominee or in the case of an organization, a 1-2 page background document;
  2. Letter of Recommendation to support the nomination

Questions or comments can be sent to:

Award Prize:

In addition to the plaque presentation at the annual CCS Awards Ceremony, which takes place during the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress, the Dr. Harold N. Segall Award of Merit recipient will be provided with complimentary registration for the current year’s Canadian Cardiovascular Congress.

Award Recipients:

2023 – Jacqueline Saw, Vancouver
2022 – Canadian Women’s Heart Health Centre – National Alliance
2021 – Chi-Ming Chow, Toronto
2020 – Andrew Krahn, Vancouver
2019 – HeartLife Foundation, Vancouver
2018 – Robert Hegele, London
2017 – Hude Quan, Calgary
2016 – Sonia Anand, Hamilton
2015 – Beth Abramson, Toronto
2014 – Norman Campbell, Calgary
2013 – Canadian Hypertension Education Program (CHEP)
2012 – Brian McCrindle, Toronto
2011 – The Canadian Heart Health Strategy and Action Plan
2010 – Andrew Pipe, Ottawa
2009 – John Stanton & The Running Room, Edmonton
2008 – Milan Gupta, Brampton
2007 – Vivian Rambihar, Toronto
2006 – Martin Juneau, Montréal
2005 – Elinor Wilson, Ottawa
2004 – Anthony Graham, Toronto
2003 – Bruce Reeder, Saskatoon
2002 – Joseph Ricci, Toronto
2001 – The Honourable Allan Rock
2000 – Rx&D, Canada’s Research-Based Pharmaceutical Companies
1999 – Jean-Pierre Després, Québec
1998 – Arun Chockalingam, Ottawa, Gilles Dagenais, Montréal & Gilles Paradis, Montréal
1997 – Terence Kavanagh, Toronto Rehabilitation Centre
1996- Andrès Petrasovits, Cardiovascular Disease Prevention Unit
1995 – ParticipACTION
1994 – Physicians For a Smoke-Free Canada
1993 – J George Fodor, St John’s
1992 – Heart and Stroke Foundations – National and Provincial
1991 – Air Canada

Back to top