Canadian Cardiovascular Society

Distinguished Teacher/Mentor Award

This award was created in 1997 to acknowledge an individual’s excellence in teaching over the long term in any of the cardiovascular fields. In 2020, the award was expanded to include recognition of an individual who exemplifies a deep commitment to fostering the professional development of CCS Members or Members-in-Training. Mentoring can be academic, clinical or both. Recipients of this award are applauded for their dedication to teaching in this scientific specialty area or mentoring others who practice in this field.

Award Criteria:

Nominations for this award are solicited from the general membership of the Society, from the Deans of Canadian medical schools, and from the Heads and Program Directors of the divisions of cardiology, cardiovascular and thoracic surgery, pediatric cardiology and cardiovascular research groups.

Note: To mitigate direct conflict of interest,mentees submitting nomination letters should not be current doctoral students or postdoctoral fellows working with the nominee.

A Nomination submission must include the following documents:
  1. Letter from the primary nominator outlining the rationale for the nomination;
  2. Letter of support from a second person;
  3. 1-2 page Biography of the nominee;
  4. The nominee is a Canadian citizen and must be a CCS member.

Questions or comments can be sent to:

Award Prize:

In addition to the plaque presentation at the annual CCS Awards Ceremony, which takes place during the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress, the Distinguished Teacher/Mentor Award recipient will receive complimentary registration for the current year’s Canadian Cardiovascular Congress.

Award Recipients:

2023 – Ian Burwash, Ottawa
2022 – Andrew Krahn, Vancouver
2021 – Martin J. Gardner, Halifax
2020 – Shaun Goodman, Toronto
2019 – Graham Wong, Vancouver
2018 – Kenny Wong, Halifax
2017 – Peter Seidelin, Toronto
2016 – Kwan-Leung Chan, Ottawa
2015 – Chi-Ming Chow, Toronto
2014 – Normand Racine, Montréal
2013 – Wayne Tymchak, Edmonton
2012 – Donald Palisaitis, Montréal
2011 – Ken Gin, Vancouver
2010 – Martin Green, Ottawa
2009 – Israel Belenkie, Calgary
2008 – Ernest Leo Fallen, Hamilton
2007 – Gary Burggraf, Kingson
2006 – Lyall A.J. Higginson, Ottawa
2005 – Jean-Claude Fouron, Montréal
2004 – Robert Chisholm, Toronto
2003 – Dylan Taylor, Edmonton
2002 – Ihor Dyrda, Montréal
2001 – Libardo Melendez, London
2000 – Luigi Casella, Toronto
1999 – Victor Huckell, Vancouver
1998 – Donald Beanlands, Ottawa
1997 – Douglas L Roy, Halifax

Back to top