Trainee Excellence in Education Award

Deadline: May 9, 2019

This Award was first presented in 2002. It acknowledges a CCS Member-in-Training for their extraordinary accomplishment in all aspects of medical education in any of the cardiovascular fields, be that adult cardiology, cardiovascular surgery, pediatric cardiology or pure research.

Award Criteria:
Nominations are solicited from CCS Members, Program Directors, Chiefs of Cardiology and Deans of Medicine.

The CCS Trainee Member should have:

  1. Earned distinction as an outstanding teacher of fellow trainees, junior house-staff and medical students;
  2. Acquired accomplishments illustrating initiative and innovation in, and contributions to medical education.

A Nomination submission must include the following documents:

  1. Letter from the primary nominator outlining the rationale for the nomination;
  2. Second letter of support from the Program Director of the nominee;
  3. 1-2 page Biography of the nominee.

Submit a Nomination using any one of the following methods:

By Email: CCS Nominations and Awards Committee This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

By Fax: CCS Nominations and Awards Committee (613) 569-6574

By Mail: CCS Nominations and Awards Committee,1100-222 Queen St, Ottawa, Ontario, K1P 5V9

Award Prize:
In addition to the plaque presentation at the annual CCS Awards Ceremony, which takes place during the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress, the Trainee Excellence in Education Award recipient will receive reasonable coverage of travel expenses, two-nights hotel accommodation and complimentary registration for the current year's Canadian Cardiovascular Congress.

  • Trainee Excellence in Education Award

    2018   William McIntyre, Hamilton
    2017   Andrew Moeller, Ottawa
    2016   Laura Banks, Toronto
    2015   Dimitrios Tsirigotis, Toronto
    2014   James McKinney, Vancouver
    2013   Benjamin Hibbert, Ottawa
    2012   Brian Potter, Boston, MA
    2011   Jacob Udell, Boston, MA
    2010   Gilbert Tang, Toronto
    2009   Joel Price, Ottawa
    2008   Kapil Bhagirath, Winnipeg
    2007   Carolyn Taylor, Vancouver
    2006   Michael Froeschl, Ottawa
    2005   Phillip Jong, Toronto
    2004   Paul Novak, Montréal
    2003   No recipient
    2002   Anil Gupta, Brampton
              Davinder Jassal, Halifax