Resident Vascular Award

The Canadian Cardiovascular Society and Bayer Inc. have collaboratively created an award, entitled the “CCS − Bayer Resident Vascular Award”. This Award is intended for Canadian clinical trainees (PGY 4-6) for a research project on any topic related to thrombosis, anticoagulation, stroke, or atrial fibrillation.

The program is particularly interested in research that has the potential to advance knowledge about or improve the care of patients at risk for vascular, thrombotic or embolic events.


Applicants must be residents enrolled in a Canadian clinical training program (PGY 4-6) for, but not limited to, adult or pediatric cardiology, cardiac or vascular surgery.

Applicants must be available to travel to Toronto to present their research projects to the judging panel during a session at the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress (CCC), on October 21, 2018. Finalists will be provided a complimentary registration to attend the CCC.

Important Dates & Deadlines:

  • Submission Deadline: September 10, 2018

  • Finalists Announcement: Late September 2018

  • Award Presented: October 21, 2018

Award Prizes:

  • 1st prize: $20,000

  • 2nd prize: $15,000

  • 3rd prize: $10,000

An additional $5,000 prize to be awarded by the CCC session audience to one of the three finalists for the most effective and persuasive presentation.

Terms of Reference for the Award:

Applicants are asked to submit a brief (three pages or less) proposal, including the following:

  • One paragraph abstract

  • Outline of the project. Is the project part of a larger study or grant? If so, please explain.

  • Description of the research environment where the research project will be conducted (research must be conducted in Canada)

  • Name of mentor or supervisor

  • Budget - Is the project partially funded using other channels? If so, please explain.

  • One of these three pages must be a brief curriculum vitae of the applicant outlining any prior research experience and publications (up to one page within the 3 page limit).

  • If the scope of the project is greater than the funds awarded, the applicant must explain what area the grant will be used in. If another member(s) of the team is/are involved in the project, applicant is to describe his/her role in the study.


An evaluation committee chaired by Dr. Andrew Krahn and consisting of Drs. Katia Dyrda, Jeff Healey, Jean-François Tanguay, Rob Welsh and Richard Whitlock, will review the applications and select the three most meritorious finalists.

These three finalists will present their research project at a session held during the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress (CCC) in Toronto, on October 21, 2018. During a 10 minute presentation, they will have the opportunity to present the research project and answer questions from the judging panel above.

Following the three presentations, each of the three finalists will be awarded a Vascular Award.