Research Achievement Award

Deadline: May 9, 2019

This award was created in 1982 in recognition of research excellence. The acknowledgement is offered to an established investigator working on an aspect of cardiovascular research in Canada. 

Award Criteria:
Nominations are sought for this most prestigious award from CCS Members, Deans of Canadian Medical Schools and Heads and Program Directors of Cardiovascular Programs in Canada.

The research should:

  1. Have an identifiable theme;
  2. Have been conducted, at least in part, in Canada;
  3. The nominee should currently be actively engaged in research.

A Nomination submission must include the following documents:

  1. Three letters of support, at least two of them from outside the nominee’s institution. One of the supporters will serve as the primary nominator and must be responsible for gathering the additional two letters of support and related materials;
  2. A copy of the nominee’s CV.

Note: The selection committee relies heavily on the letters of nomination and support, which should therefore be detailed and provide a clear rationale for the nomination.

Submit a Nomination using any one of the following methods:

By Email: CCS Nominations and Awards Committee This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

By Fax: CCS Nominations and Awards Committee (613) 569-6574

By Mail: CCS Nominations and Awards Committee, 1100-222 Queen St., Ottawa, ON, K1P 5V9

Award Prize and Oral Presentation:
In addition to the plaque presentation at the annual CCS Awards Ceremony, which takes place during the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress, the Research Achievement Award recipient will receive reasonable coverage of travel expenses, two-nights hotel accommodation and complimentary registration for the current year's Canadian Cardiovascular Congress.  The recipient of this Award will also be asked to present a forty-minute dissertation at the current year's Canadian Cardiovascular Congress, highlighting selected aspects of his or her research work.  When appropriate, one runner-up may be presented with a plaque.

  • Research Achievement Award Recipients

    2018     Jack Tu, Toronto
    2017    Anthony Tang, London
    2016    Jean-Pierre Després, Québec
    2015    Robert Beanlands, Ottawa
    2014    Stuart Connolly, Hamilton
    2013    Ernesto Schiffrin, Montréal
    2012    Robert Roberts, Ottawa
    2011    John Floras, Toronto
    2010    Philippe Pibarot, Québec
    2009    Duncan Stewart, Ottawa
    2008    Jean-Claude Tardif, Montréal
    2007    Gary Lopaschuk, Edmonton
    2006    Jeffrey Weitz, Hamilton
    2005    Bruce McManus, Vancouver
    2004    Stephen Archer, Edmonton
    2003    Peter Liu, Toronto
    2002    David Naylor, Toronto
    2001    Stanley Nattel, Montréal
    2000    Richard D Weisel, Toronto
    1999    Salim Yusuf, Hamilton
    1998    Pavel Hamet, Montréal
    1997    Jean-Lucien Rouleau, Montréal
    1996    Pierre Théroux, Montréal
    1995    John O Parker, Kingston
    1994    Marlene Rabinovitch, Toronto
    1993    Paul Armstrong, Toronto
    1992    Martial G Bourassa, Montréal
    1991    Naranjan S Dhalla, Winnipeg
    1990    Jacques de Champlain, Montréal
    1989    Michael J Sole, Toronto
    1988    Gerard M Guiraudon, London
               George J Klein, London
    1987    E Douglas Wigle, Toronto
    1986    Adolfo J deBold, Kingston
    1985    Lucien Campeau, Montréal
    1984    Pentti Rautaharju, Halifax
    1983    Peter M Olley, Toronto
    1982    Jack Hirsh, Hamilton