Distinguished Teacher Award

Deadline: May 9, 2019

This award was created in 1997 as acknowledgement of an individual’s excellence in teaching over the long term in any of the cardiovascular fields. Recipients of this award are applauded for their dedication to teach in this scientific specialty.

Award Criteria:
Nominations for this award are solicited from the general membership of the Society, from the Deans of Canadian medical schools, and from the Heads and Program Directors of the divisions of cardiology, cardiovascular and thoracic surgery, pediatric cardiology and cardiovascular research groups.

A Nomination submission must include the following documents:

  1. Letter from the primary nominator outlining the rationale for the nomination;
  2. Letter of support from a second person;
  3. 1-2 page Biography of the nominee.

Submit a Nomination using any one of the following methods:

By Email: CCS Nominations and Awards Committee This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

By Fax: CCS Nominations and Awards Committee (613) 569-6574

By Mail: CCS Nominations and Awards Committee, 1100-222 Queen St., Ottawa, ON K1P 5V9

In addition to the plaque presentation at the annual CCS Awards Ceremony, which takes place during the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress, the Distinguished Teacher Award recipient will receive, reasonable coverage of travel expenses, two-nights hotel accommodation and complimentary registration for the current year's Canadian Cardiovascular Congress.

  • Distinguished Teacher Award Recipients

    2018    Kenny Wong, Halifax
    2017    Peter Seidelin, Toronto
    2016    Kwan-Leung Chan, Ottawa
    2015    Chi-Ming Chow, Toronto
    2014    Normand Racine, Montréal
    2013    Wayne Tymchak, Edmonton
    2012    Donald Palisaitis, Montréal
    2011    Ken Gin, Vancouver
    2010    Martin Green, Ottawa
    2009    Israel Belenkie, Calgary
    2008    Ernest Leo Fallen, Hamilton
    2007    Gary Burggraf, Kingson
    2006    Lyall A.J. Higginson, Ottawa
    2005    Jean-Claude Fouron, Montréal
    2004    Robert Chisholm, Toronto
    2003    Dylan Taylor, Edmonton
    2002    Ihor Dyrda, Montréal
    2001    Libardo Melendez, London
    2000    Luigi Casella, Toronto
    1999    Victor Huckell, Vancouver
    1998    Donald Beanlands, Ottawa
    1997    Douglas L Roy, Halifax